Winter 2015 anime watching intentions

I decided to move this over from my MAL blog. The list of series is taken from https://livechart.me/winter. As always, I will update this post as the season progresses.

This season I will be trying out most new things, but the vast majority of the unusually high number of sequels are from franchises which I am not familiar with. 23 things to watch in total, 4 continuing and 19 new.

Continuing from the current season:
Akatsuki no Yona*
Log Horizon 2nd Series*
Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso (may still drop this yet)*
Shirobako*

Will try:
Absolute Duo
Ansatsu Kyoushitsu
Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love!*
Death Parade
Doamaiger D
Dog Days”
Isuca
Junketsu no Maria
Juuou Mujin no Fafnir*
Kantai Collection: KanColle*
Koufuku Graffiti
Military!*
Rolling Girls**
Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata*
Seiken Tsukai no World Break*
Sengoku Musou*
Shinmai Maou no Testament*
Yoru no Yatterman
Yuri Kuma Arashi

*These series are available in the UK on Crunchyroll

** These series are not available on CR but are available on in the UK on Viewster

Won’t watch:
Aldnoah Zero 2nd Season – never watched series 1
Durarara!!x2 Shou – haven’t watched anime of series 1
Go! Princess Precure – I’ve never tried a precure series and this doesn’t look like the one I would go with if I did.
Jojo no Kimyou na Bouken: Stardust Crusaders – Egypt Hen – not watched any Jojo series.
Kamisama Hajimemashita – dropped series 1.
Ketsuekigata-kun! 2 – I didn’t even know this existed and thus never watched the first series.
Kuroko no Basket 3rd series – Never watched earlier series
Minna Atsumare! Falcom Gakuen SC – never watched the first series.
Pankis! 2-jigen – I don’t think I could bear to watch this.
Q Transformers: Kaette Kita Convoy no Nazo – not a transformers fan.
Shounen Hollywood – didn’t watch 49
Soukyuu no Fafner: Dead Aggressor – Exodus – not watched earlier parts of the series.
Tantei Kageki Milky Holmes TD – not watched earlier parts of the series.
The iDOLM@STER: Cinderella Girls – the original iDOLM@STER didn’t appeal to me so I don’t see this doing it either.
Tokyo Ghoul √A – didn’t watch the first series.
Tsukimonogatari: Yotsugi Doll – I kind of stopped caring about monogatari.
Washimo 2 – Completely put off by the art style.

Expectation levels: (note: this is not saying “this will be good” – I do it really only to look back at the end and see how well the season did or did not match my expectations).

High Expectations:
Death Parade – I’m hoping this is good. Then again this sort of thing it depends a lot on temperament as to whether or not I enjoy it. And it isn’t exactly easy to pull of well either.
Dog Days” – it’s Dog Days. Need I say more?
Kantai Collection – All that buzz has got to be worth something, right?
Military! – sounds funny and fun. And the manga is the same magazine as Echo-Pun so it probably is both. Mm Echo-Pun… I miss that series…
Rolling Girls – when it was first announced this had no info on it at all, but it still caught my eye. As we’ve found out more, my expectations have risen.
Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata – good series getting adapted = good anime? Not necessarily, but we can always hope.
Seiken Tsukai no World Break – I never gave this much attention before. I’m not sure why. The more I look at it the better it sounds.

Not sure what to expect:
Absolute Duo – I’ve heard very mixed opinions of this LN series. It sounds interesting enough, but… Well, we’ll see. If nothing else, an OP by Konomi Suzuki is always a good thing.
Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love! – people who love things that are different, rejoice! This season has rather a lot of… different series, and this is one of them. As for those of us don’t determine whether something is good or not based on such a proposterous notion as how “original” it is, well… who knows. This could be hilarious. Or it could be awful.
Juuou Mujin no Fafnir – This kind of thing depends almost entirely on the characters as to whether or not I like it. As I know nothing about the characters, I can’t really form expectations for the anime.
Koufuku Graffiti – Another really odd one. But hey, it’s something from the Manga Time Kirara family. Which is always a good thing.
Sengoku Musou – not really looked into this…
Yoru no Yatterman – …nor this.
Yuri Kuma Arashi – Another weird one. My opinion of this has fluctuated over time from “this will be great” to “this will be godawful” so I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Low Expectations:
Ansatsu Kyoushitsu – my opinion of Weekly Shounen Jump has dropped pretty much continuously over the years. I really don’t see this being the thing to turn it around, as it seems to be a mash of things that never quite work for me.
Doamaiger D – It’s been a long time since I last enjoyed something like this.
ISUCA – I don’t really know much about this still but every bit of info we do have makes me slightly more wary.
Junketsu no Maria – It would really surprise me if this turned out good. Oh, and what are the odds that Joan of Arc will show up at some point?
Shinmai Maou no Testament – Imouto succubus plus constant ecchi situations? Doesn’t sound like my sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

